Rupert

Perusing my way through the hustle and bustle of Camden Market the other day I came across a second hand book stall and boxes of childrens annuals out the front.  Flicking through the box, of what could quite easily have been from my childhood, I came across Rupert Bear.

rupert1

I was shocked.  Rupert, smiling proudly on the cover, had a brown fur face and human (yes, HUMAN!) hands.  I thought I remembered him as a lovely, cuddly, fluffy, pure white bear with paws as bears should have.  I mean, yes he was a fairly anthropomorphised bear, but he was 100% bear nonetheless, no human body parts.  What are we trying to teach children if this classic kids character is a mish mash of species?!

The best example I can find of this utter inappropriateness is this plush character:

rupert2I’ll let you decide whether you want your children playing with this.

1 Response to “Rupert”


  1. 1 Victoria Starnold May 17, 2011 at 5:56 am

    Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a entirely different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Outstanding choice of colors!


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19,298 other followers

Follow Inspirational Geek on WordPress.com
Bookmark and Share

