Tron – Concept Process

You might be starting to sense some sort of a theme here, and you can probably imagine my excitement when I discovered the following images over on the Wired’s Underwire blog.

As a fan of both the original film, and Daft Punk, I’m not only particularly looking forward to my trip to the IMAX later this week for Tron:Legacy, but as a designer I’m often intrigued and fascinated by the process that films and products take.  How do the concepts and sketches on the back of an envelope compare to the final artefact?  How did that prototype model help to iterate the design and whittle it down to what we see before us?  I’m especially looking forward to the visuals, and seeing how well they’ve been executed (incredibly well if early reviews are anything to go by) when compared to the original film’s somewhat questionable, yet still groundbreaking for the time, special effects.

Some may say it ruins the illusion, but with me that’s far from it.  Understanding the process enhances the end product, helping me to (ever so slightly) understand and appreciate what went into it, and now Disney have offered us a mere teaser behind the scenes in their latest venture, Tron:Legacy.

Designer Daniel Simon was the main guy behind the 2010 light cycle design, and having a background working for Ducati  you must agree puts him in good stead to acheive the glossy heights that Tron:Legacy aims for.  I’d say the (shortened) process shown, of working through concept sketches through to final models and artworks, is fairly typical in the world of industrial and automotive design, though the standard is far from typical as it of the highest calibre.

The final light cycles did change ever so slightly when the 3D models were truly put through their paces with a physics engine.  Trying to work out how a 3tonne motorbike reacts on a glass floor at 90mph is quite something! So full credit to Disney for the attention to detail in really executing the realism. Even the small items such as the air brakes on the back  of the bikes are inspired by genuine real life working examples of brakes on jets.

Even the completely new items have been created such that the mechanism for it comes across as entirely plausible, leaving you not even batting an eyelid in questioning how it may (or may not) work.  That’s great detail design.

While at university I was the subject of a 3d body scan which, when mapped to a video of me in a lycra suit covered in tiny silver markers recorded by eight strategically placed cameras, translated to  a bio-mechanically correct 3D figure of, well, me!  You won’t need me to tell you it wasn’t a patch on the cameras Jeff Bridges had inches from his face allowing the crew to triangulate and stream footage of his every facial movement to impose an aged version of his head on another body.

The recording, mapping, and final effect shown in a hugely condensed three steps.

The special effects team for the film’s costumes claim the lights in the film “were by far the craziest thing they’ve ever done”.  Not being sure how to achieve the effect they were after they gave every effects house in LA a small budget to find something that would work.  In the end Quantum Creation FX came up with a polymer-based “stretchy thing that would bend, deal with sweat, not hurt anybody and still get bright enough,” perfect for the job in hand.

Measuring 1/8th inch thick, the illuminated tube lamps were screen-printed and incorporated into the trim on each sleek suit, all powered by a lithium ion battery on a wiring harness running the length of the suit.  This self contained unit allowed perfect lighting, consistency and reaction throughout the whole film.

You might also notice that many of the outfits in the film fit rather more snug than usual.  Each character had a custom moulded outfit created by laser scanning each person and sculpting a life size foam figure upon which to mould the outfit from a CNC machine.  The result was a millimetre perfect fit for each protective, yet athletic prowess permitting, outfit.

If you’re in any doubt over what I’ve just  said, or maybe you’ve already seen the film and are still somewhat baffled, then check out the rather good Tron Wiki which should reveal all.  No excuse not to know your Recognizer from your Solar Sailor now!

32 Responses to “Tron – Concept Process”


  1. 1 agencja fotomodelek December 26, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Realy good work cheers mate! Thx and btw – Merry Xmas!

  2. 2 Reklama online December 28, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Your blog provides a fresh look at the subject. Great job mate!

  3. 3 blog gsm December 29, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this post. Great step by step description!

  4. 4 programy na Android December 29, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Your blog provides a fresh look at the subject. Great job mate!

  5. 5 Uslugi budowlane December 30, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Outstanding piece, thanks for sharing!

  6. 6 Uslugi remontowe December 30, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Very informative post. Thanks for taking the time to share your view with us.

  7. 7 sukienki January 2, 2011 at 10:41 am

    The most comprehensive and very well thought out write up I have found on this subject on the net. Keep on writing, I will keep on coming by to read your new content. This is my fourth time coming by your blog.

  8. 8 Fantastyka January 2, 2011 at 11:40 am

    Keep working ,great job!

  9. 9 Najlepsze przepisy January 2, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    I find myself coming to your blog more and more often to the point where my visits are almost daily now!

  10. 10 Blog January 2, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now and I always find a gem in your new posts. Thanks for sharing.

  11. 11 Blog o grach January 2, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this post. Great step by step description!

  12. 12 moon travels mumbai January 3, 2011 at 12:20 am

    I always visit your blog and retrieve everything you post here but I never commented but today when I saw this post, I couldn’t stop myself from commenting here. Fantastic article mate!

  13. 13 Moto blog January 3, 2011 at 9:37 am

    As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can help me get further ahead.

  14. 14 win at roulette January 3, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    I know this is really boring and you are skipping to the next comment, but I just wanted to throw you a big thanks, you cleared up some things for me!

  15. 15 Praca blog January 3, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    I find myself coming to your blog more and more often to the point where my visits are almost daily now!

  16. 16 Stolarz January 3, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    There is obviously a lot for me to discover outside of my books. Thanks for the great read 🙂

  17. 17 hair color trends January 6, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    Hello there, I found your site via Google while looking for a related topic, your website came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  18. 18 Loraine Kuhre January 9, 2011 at 6:21 am

    Thanks a lot for the entry, I really learned a lot from it. Very good content on this website. Always looking forward to new article.

  19. 19 hostessa na bankiety January 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Thx for art – cool info bro!

  20. 20 Legal Downloads January 12, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    I thought it was going to be some boring old site, but I’m glad I visited. I will post a link to this site on my blog. I believe my visitors will find that very useful.

  21. 21 Legal Music January 13, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    I thought it was going to be some boring old post, but I’m glad I visited. I will post a link to this site on my blog. I believe my visitors will find that very useful.

  22. 22 Travis Minniear January 16, 2011 at 2:18 am

    great stuff. Do you have a RSS feed? And would it be cool if I added in your feed to a blog of mine? I have a site that brings content through RSS feeds via a couple of sites and I’d like to include yours, a lot of folks don’t mind because I link back and everything but I like to get authorization first. Anyway let me know if you could, thank you,Regards, Travis Minniear.

  23. 23 Watch Free Movies Online No Downloading January 16, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I am hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own website now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a great example of it.

  24. 24 best poker game January 18, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Your blog provides a fresh look at the subject. Great job mate!

  25. 25 texas hold January 19, 2011 at 12:12 am

    This is an epic post, maybe I should add add this blog to my blogroll? 🙂

  26. 26 free software download January 19, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Hi there, I found your blog via Google while searching for some interesting news and your post looks very interesting for me.

  27. 27 Rapidshare Search January 20, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    I enjoyed to find this article. I like your point of view. Thanks a lot. Cheers

  28. 28 Rapidshare Search January 20, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Im glad that I found it, Very well post here.

  29. 29 Rapidshare Search January 20, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    Good for U. I think its one of the most informative post in this theme. Lookin’ forward.

  30. 30 free music downloads for ipods January 26, 2011 at 12:30 am

    I’m impressed, I need to say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you’ve gotten hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the difficulty is something that not sufficient people are speaking intelligently about. I am very completely satisfied that I stumbled throughout this in my search for something referring to this.


  1. 1 Tweets that mention Tron – Concept Process « Inspirational Geek -- Topsy.com Trackback on December 22, 2010 at 11:31 pm
  2. 2 Rio 2016 Olympics « Inspirational Geek Trackback on January 5, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19,295 other followers

Follow Inspirational Geek on WordPress.com
Bookmark and Share

