How Pencils Are Made

I use one almost everyday without fail.  Whether it’s a quick sketch, or something in more detail, there’s always a pencil of some description to hand.  Even as I look around me know, I have two pencils (amongst a range of other writing and sketching utensils) within arm’s reach.  Yet I’ve never really given too much thought as to how these little necessities are made.

This video offers us a glimpse inside the Staedtler factory, and an insight into the remarkable detail that goes into all the steps involved in manufacturing a single pencil.

From the elastic glue that cushions the lead inside the pencil to help prevent it breaking, to the crucial “lead sandwich”, and of course the final sharpening drum that completes the process and turns them into the final product we all recognise and use.  Enjoy.

4 Responses to “How Pencils Are Made”


  1. 1 nooberry August 11, 2011 at 7:27 am

    I really, really loved this post! I am now going to have to site on YouTube watching a variety of other ‘how it’s made’ video’s in avid fascination! Thanks for this!

  2. 2 Tony August 11, 2011 at 8:46 am

    Can I be pedantic and say it’s not lead but graphite?

    • 3 inspirationalgeek August 11, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      It’s a majority graphite, yes, they refer to that early on in the video.

      I quoted the “lead sandwich” as that’s how they referred to it. I guess describing what people call it, rather than what it’s specifically made of.

  3. 4 best android rpg games September 2, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Wow! Thank you! I constantly needed to write on my website something like that. Can I implement a part of your post to my blog?


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19,295 other followers

Follow Inspirational Geek on WordPress.com
Bookmark and Share

