Child Of The 90s – Internet Explorer

Internet Explorer used to be the go-to browser of choice, but in recent years it has fallen out of favour with the surge in popularity of Mozilla’s Firefox and the domination of Google’s Chrome, as well as a few others.

In the 90s, however, you didn’t have the choice.  Certainly there was more than just Internet Explorer (Netscape springs to mind), but for the masses it was all we knew.

Microsoft and Windows are now fighting back and using that sense of nostalgia to appeal to many of us (myself included) with this rather clever advert.

This advert has my childhood all over it.  Although I managed to avoid a bowl haircut, I did have a shell suit, snap bracelets and bum bag (a cool kid, I know!), and whilst I wasn’t very good with a yo-yo, I was brilliant at Pogs.

I remember our family’s first dial up modem (oooh the luxury of 56kbps!) and I was even still using floppy disks at my first year of University!

I also had a (seemingly suicidal) Tamagotchi, Trolls, a Walkman, Super Soakers, and (yes!) smashing the handles on Hungry Hippos!

I’m not sure I’ll steer back to using Internet Explorer, for the time being anyhow, but the advert certainly struck a chord reviving memories with me and has given food for thought.

I really like their use of the “reconnect” wording, reinforcing that deep down they know that all people of a certain generation once used, and loved, Internet Explorer for providing all of our internet-related needs.

In the future I won’t be so quick to dismiss IE, even if it is to simply note how good their new advert is.

6 Responses to “Child Of The 90s – Internet Explorer”


  1. 2 Tony January 25, 2013 at 10:01 pm

    Ah…..nostalgia

  2. 3 stephanissima January 27, 2013 at 3:49 am

    Man…I remember when 28.8kbps was speedy! And yeah, they picked most of the stuff I remember too. I never used IE in the 90s. Instead, it was Netscape and the walled garden of AOL. Good ad though

  3. 5 kellyceline January 29, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    What a great advert! That was my entire childhood in under two minutes. Definitely made me reassess my thoughts on IE.

  4. 6 Mattie March 5, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    I do accept as true with all of the ideas you’ve presented for your post. They’re really
    convincing and will certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are very
    short for newbies. Could you please lengthen them a little
    from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19,300 other followers

Follow Inspirational Geek on WordPress.com
Bookmark and Share

