Mathematical Drawings

When I first set up this blog, one of the hardest parts was finding a name that suited my interests, personality, and what I intended to write about.

Inspirational Geek seemed to fit well, and if there was a ever a post to sum up a combination of those aspects altogether it is probably this one.

Hitting the nail on the head is Rafael Araujo and his self-titled “Calculation work which encompasses the ‘inspirational geek’ sentiment more than most.

Using only a pencil, a ruler, a protractor and a compass Rafael produces the most intricate and visually stunning mathematical artworks.  And no computer in sight.

Araujo1

The flat paper space is brought to life in a complex and geometric 3D world.  We all know that there is maths in nature, my Doodling In Math mini series demonstrated that, but these drawings prove it in an incredible way.

Butterflies rise from the page and shells spiral up from their base with expert realism, and all hand drawn.  No CAD, no software, no Wacom tablet, just traditional drawing tools.

Araujo7


Araujo3

Araujo4

Spectacularly complicated images.  I wouldn’t even know where to begin myself.

Araujo12

Araujo11

Araujo10

If this doesn’t inspire me to get back into more regular sketching then I don’t know what will!

Araujo9

Araujo8

Araujo2

Many more works on his site here.

15 Responses to “Mathematical Drawings”


  1. 3 chrich717 March 13, 2014 at 9:25 pm

    Those ARE incredible images!!!! Its even more amazing that there were done by hand. I too am inspired to pick up my sketchbook and pencils again!

  2. 5 parametricmary March 13, 2014 at 11:37 pm

    i can’t stop looking at these, astounding work

  3. 6 katrinalouis3 March 14, 2014 at 2:35 am

    These drawings make me question what i’ve accomplished in my life.

  4. 7 wakeorsleep March 15, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    As a mathematician and a photographer, this may be the Best Post Ever. The nautilus shell is just too awesome … ugh, I love logarithms.

  5. 10 eternalist1 March 20, 2014 at 3:55 am

    Reblogged this on L'appel du Vide and commented:

  6. 11 eirians March 20, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    Breathtaking. I should go to sleep but this makes me want to open up my sketchbook and spend the night drowning in art instead.

  7. 12 NE.Perkins March 21, 2014 at 11:38 pm

    You’ve made me like math 🙂

  8. 14 nellodee1010 March 25, 2014 at 6:07 am

    Looks like God’s drafting board


  1. 1 Mobius Strip Table | Inspirational Geek Trackback on May 19, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19,303 other followers

Follow Inspirational Geek on WordPress.com
Bookmark and Share

