How Pencils Are Made

I’ve looked at the seemingly simply pencil before, showing how complex each of the components that go into it really are.  But have you ever wondered how pencils are actually made?

I hadn’t, until this morning a tweet from Fi Scott caught my eye.

Anyone of a certain age will remember the brilliant programme Playdays that made daily stops along a bus route to different characters each week.  My favourite character was on Monday’s episode – the Why Bird.  So imagine my excitement when the tweet led to a video combining a childhood favourite with my modern day love for stationery!

Fascinating and educational!  Happy Friday!

10 Responses to “How Pencils Are Made”


  1. 1 hakeem January 30, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    Wow this is truly amazing. I still don’t get how the machine doesn’t break the lead/graphite in the pencil, but i do that just by drumming with it. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  2. 2 alzxithymia January 31, 2015 at 1:17 pm

    Reblogged this on lineofversehavingsixiambicfeet and commented:
    how the thing, where thoughts escape, are made.. so cool

  3. 6 Mitela February 6, 2015 at 5:54 pm

    Reblogged this on affairs of mine and commented:
    Since I love pencils; oh how they have helped me express myself on paper!

  4. 7 Designer Jeff Crosby February 7, 2015 at 3:24 pm

    Wow! That was pretty fascinating. Never knew how they did it. Thanks

  5. 9 thegork February 8, 2015 at 1:16 pm

    Mesmerising! Thanks for for making my day 🙂


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19,302 other followers

Follow Inspirational Geek on WordPress.com
Bookmark and Share

